The Truth

The truth is I love you.
The truth is sometimes I wish I didn’t.
The truth is I will always hope that you love me back.
The truth is that’s probably not healthy

The truth is you don’t understand.
The truth is you never will.
The truth is I don’t understand.
The truth is I never will.

The rumor is you never loved me.
The rumor is you never will.
The rumor is you did it on purpose.
The rumor is it made you glad.

The rumor is I made it up.
The rumor is I just want attention.
The rumor is it’s just a phase.
The rumor is I’ll get over it.

The truth is you were supposed to protect me.
The truth is I don’t know how to understand.
The truth is hard to differentiate from rumor.
The truth is they won’t ever understand.

The truth is I wish I had never told anyone what happened.
The truth is I wish it was all in my head.
The truth would be easier to swallow if it was still only in my head.
The truth is the truth makes people uncomfortable.

Leave a Reply

