Hurricane Tamer

You are the laughter to my tears
You are the silly to my serious
You are the overly honest to my trying not to say too much
You are the rebel to my goody two shoes
You are the athlete to my band geek
You are the math nerd to my poetry enthusiast
And you are the sunshine to my stormy clouds
You are my husband

You took me at my most broken and told me you had never seen anything so beautifully put together
You make me feel like a beautiful stained glass window instead of all the shattered pieces of my life that seem to only be held together with tape
You hold me when I can’t stop shaking
You love me when I forget how to feel
And you are my blanket fort of safety

I didn’t ever think anyone would ever love me half as much as you do
I didn’t think I would ever find anyone who would appreciate my tears more than fake smiles
I didn’t think you existed.

Even when you get scared that I’m not going to make it through this hurricane
I want you to know that you are the reason the storm is a category 2 instead of a category 5
I want you to know you are the reason the end date keeps getting pushed back
Because I finally love someone more than I hate myself.

Leave a Reply

